SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA COUNTY OF SAN BERNARDINO

Communications & Public Information Office



www.sb-court.org | courts-pio@sb-court.org

Lisa M. Rogan Presiding Judge Anabel Z. Romero Court Executive Officer

NEWS RELEASE

RELEASE DATE: DECEMBER 20, 2024 2025 SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY CIVIL GRAND JURY

SAN BERNARDINO, CA— Nineteen San Bernardino County residents were chosen on December 13, 2024, to serve on the Civil Grand Jury for a one-year term starting January 1, 2025.

Presiding Judge Lisa M. Rogan led the ceremony, which began with Foreperson Liza Lopez presenting the 2024 Grand Jury's Final Report. This was followed by the selection of the 2025 Grand Jury through a random drawing of names from the ceremonial "Grand Jury Wheel" by Court Executive Officer and Jury Commissioner Anabel Z. Romero. The event concluded with the swearing-in of the new Grand Jurors.

Over 30 residents applied for the upcoming term. The nine judges on the Grand Jury Interview and Selection Panel reviewed the applications and selected the top candidates, whom the panel judges then interviewed. Finally, Superior Court Judges voted to approve the final slate of candidates.

According to the California Penal Code, the Grand Jury must be selected by a random drawing of no more than 30 individuals who proportionally represent the county's five supervisorial districts. The first 19 names drawn constitute the Grand Jury, with the remaining individuals selected as alternates in the order drawn. Alternates will serve in the event that any member cannot complete their one-year term.

The names of the grand jurors are on the following page of this news release. For further questions or comments, please visit the Grand Jury's website at <u>http://wp.sbcounty.gov/grandjury/</u> or contact the Grand Jury Coordinator at (909) 382-3971.



2025 SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY CIVIL GRAND JURORS:

David Ceballos Ulysses Albert Jr. Rosalind Jones Inga Talbert Melinda Ferguson Edward Jabo James Zimmerman William Chapman James R.Goodrich Jr Ronald Hodges Donna Kenney-Cash William C. Arnett, Jr Thomas Gafney Bruce McGuire David Van Buren Nonie Kleinhans Laurie Mooney Edward Brown Jr Dameda Scott